The 2017 winners are in!

newbery caldecott seals

Every year, the American Library Association recognizes the best media for children and young adults with prestigious awards. Some of these awards include: the John Newbery Medal for most outstanding contribution to children’s literature, the Randolph Caldecott Medal for most distinguished American picture book for children, and the Michael L. Printz Award for excellence in YA literature.

Remember to stop by the library to check out past and current winners!

2017 Newbery Medal Winner: “The Girl Who Drank the Moon” by Kelly Barnhill

2017 Newbery Honor Books:
“Freedom Over Me: Eleven Slaves, Their Lives and Dreams Brought to Life by Ashley Bryan” by Ashley Bryan
“The Inquisitor’s Tale: Or, The Three Magical Children and Their Holy Dog” by Adam Gidwitz
“Wolf Hollow” by Lauren Wolk

2017 Caldecott Medal Winner: “Radiant Child: The Story of Young Artist Jean-Michel Basquiat” by Javaka Steptoe

2017 Caldecott Honor Books:
“Leave Me Alone!” by Vera Brosgol
“Freedom in Congo” by Carole Boston Weatherford, illustrated by R. Gregory Christie
“Du Iz Tak?” by Carson Ellis
“They All Saw a Cat” by Brendan Wenzel

2017 Printz Award Winner: “March: Book Three” by John Lewis

2017 Printz Honor Books:
“Asking for It” by Louise O’Neill
“The Passion of Dolssa” by Julie Berry
“Scythe” by Neal Shusterman
“The Sun Is Also a Star” by Nicola Yoon

For a complete list of winners, visit the ALA’s website.