New Chocolate Champs!

The new Chocolate Champions of Vermilion are returning champs Sandy Hoholski Bennett and Shirley Koachway. Bennett won last year’s blue ribbon and Koachway won top honors in 2011.

Bennett’s winning recipe this year was Chocolate Pretzel Peanut Butter Heath Bon-Bons. Koachway made Aztec Bark with dark chocolate, chilis, dried cherries and nuts.

Eleane North won second place for her Chocolate Pops. Another returning champ, Monica Stark, who won the blue ribbon back in 2008, came in second place this year in the VIP category. Carolyn Lamb’s Crème de Menthe and Peppermint Fudge Brownies won third place and Celia Drop won third place in the VIP category with her Toffee Cheesecake Truffles.

First place in the teen category went to the team of Alayna Morgan, Jordan Wood and Emily Szabo who made Oreo Truffles. Second-place teen winner is Lucy Safer, who not only made Sock Monkey Cake Balls but also dressed up in a sock monkey cap!

First place in the children’s division was won by the team of Gabriel, Eliza and Suzanna Holmes and second place went to Bodhi Messick who made Chocolate and Peanut Butter Kisses.
photos courtesy of Rosemary Kovacs


About Patty