Board of Trustees

Ritter Public Library is organized as an agency of the Vermilion Local Schools. Library board members are appointed by the Vermilion Local Schools board.

Ritter trustees serve seven-year terms without compensation. They attend regular board meetings (currently held the second Tuesday of the month except August, beginning at 7 pm) and other special meetings as called. Trustees also serve on at least two board committees and attend committee meetings.

Rick Van Den Bossche


rick from church 7-09Mr. Van Den Bossche has served on the board since 2006 and is a former board president. He currently serves on the Building and Grounds, Personnel and Art committees. He is also a member of the board’s Endowment Fund committee. Van Den Bossche is a lifelong resident of Vermilion and a graduate of Vermilion High School and Bowling Green State University. He is employed as a high school business education teacher in the Toledo public school system.

Dan Dropko

Vice President

dropko editedMr. Dropko joined the board in 2013. He is chairman of the Policy and Nominating committees and also serves on the Finance and Strategic Planning committees. He graduated from Vermilion High School and the University of Illinois. He has worked as a radio announcer for NPR, an ESL teacher, an assistant public defender and a law school academic counselor. He is now retired but occasionally serves as a substitute teacher in the Vermilion schools.

Lois Arnold

Corresponding Secretary

lois arnoldMs. Arnold began her term on the board in 2015. She serves on the Art, Endowment and Personnel committees. She is retired after 30 years of teaching high school government, history and English in Willoughby-Eastlake schools. She also worked more recently as a certified pharmacy technician and home health care specialist for Vermilion’s Drug Mart. She has lived in Vermilion since 1992 and recently chaired the Chocolate Festival as a Friend of Ritter.

Tim Costello

costelloMr. Costello has been a member of the board since 2014. He is chair of the Building and Grounds Committee and also serves on the Policy and Strategic Planning committees. He is a graduate of Lorain County Community College. He is a retired air traffic controller. He worked for the Federal Aviation Administration at facilities in New Mexico, Washington D.C., Virginia and Oberlin, Ohio.

Zack Dolyk

dolykMr. Dolyk joined the board in 2016. He serves on the Buildings and Grounds, Finance and Policy committees. He earned a bachelor of arts Degree from Ohio Northern University and his law degree from the Ohio State University. Since 1978, he has practiced law in Vermilion and is a partner in the law firm of Dolyk & Zeiher Co., L.P.A. Since January 2008, he has served as judge of the Vermilion Municipal Court, which is a part-time position.

Marie Warden

dolykMs. Warden has served since 2002 and is a former board president. She is chair of the Personnel, Endowment and Strategic Planning committees and also serves on the Nominating Committee. Ms. Warden, who graduated from Kent State University, is a retired preschool teacher, a lifetime member of the Friends of Ritter Public Library and served for 12 years on the Vermilion Local Schools board of education.

Nancy Gibbons

gibbonsMs. Gibbons has been a member of the board since 2004. She is chair of the Finance and Art committees and also serves on the Nominating Committee. She is a graduate of Mount Union College.